2020 Banner

The Beef Farmers of Ontario, the Ontario Sheep Farmers, Mapleseed, and the Ontario Forage Council, invite you to nominate a deserving producer for the Mapleseed Pasture Award.

This is an excellent opportunity to recognize individual producers who are doing an outstanding job of pasture management. The Mapleseed Pasture Awards are also a way of encouraging producers to implement pasture management strategies that maximize production per acre.

For each category, Mapleseed contributes a cash award of $250 to the winner.  The winner of each category will also be invited to share a presentation about their operation at their respective commodity AGM (pending for 2021 due to COVID safety protocols).

Additional to these prizes and recognition, each winner will receive a 25kg bag of their choice of a Mapleseed Forage Mix.



The deadline to submit applications for the sheep pasture award is October 1, 2021

The deadline to submit applications for the beef pasture award is November 30, 2021

To submit a nomination for this award, complete the appropriate application form

Application forms:

2021 Sheep Pasture Application

2022 Beef Pasture Application


2020 Sheep Pasture Award winners Matthew Fleguel and Liz Johnston of Waupoos Island Sheep Farm in the Picton area of Prince Edward County  

See more winners below!

Send completed applications to:

"Mapleseed" Beef/Sheep Pasture Award

c/o Ontario Forage Council

Box 463

Markdale, ON, N0C 1H0

E-mail: support@ontarioforagecouncil.com Subject line: "Mapleseed Pasture Award"

Fax: (519)986-2643

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact either the Ontario Forage Council office or MAPLESEED

Ray Robertson, P.Ag.
Manager, Ontario Forage Council


Scott Fisher



Former Pasture Award Winners:

2019 Beef Pasture Award Winners Doug Gray and Bonnnie Wilson, Piper Creek Farms

2018 Sheep Pasture Award Winner Rodney Jones, Crimson Farm

2017 Beef Pasture Award Winner - Paul DeJong, Ventry Farms

2015 Sheep Pasture Award Winner - Shropshire Hills 

2015 Beef Pasture Award Winner - Maple-Dale Farms

 2014 Sheep Winner-Brian and Anita DeJong of DeJong Farms in Georgian Bluffs!

 2015 Beef Winner-Peter Kotzeff of Chesley in Bruce County!

Pasture Award winner 2011

Pasture Award Winner 2010

 Pasture Award 2009 (173.91 kB)

 OFC - Ontario Pasture Award 2008 (126.95 kB)